Audiences, awards and an amazing Film Festival

Film Fest 2016 roundup v2 975x400

Edinburgh International Film Festival has enjoyed another hugely successful year with huge audience numbers, scores of premieres and big stars gracing the red carpet.

The festival's 160 feature films and 130 shorts reached 51947 cinemagoers over its 12 day run, and included a large number of premiere presentations. These included 22 World Premieres, 5 International Premieres, 17 European Premieres and 85 UK Premieres.

Over 500 filmmakers attended the festival, from countries across the world, including Hollywood names such as Kevin Smith, Kim Cattrall, Dominique Pinon, Meg Ryan, Clancy Brown, Eddie Izzard, Brian Cox and legendary producer Jeremy Thomas (Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence, The Last Emperor, Sexy Beast).

Mark Adams, EIFF Artistic Director said:

It has been a wonderful Festival brimming with terrific films, amazing guests and memorable events. The fact that both press and public have been so enthusiastic and supportive means that our 70th edition has been a hit. We now look forward to another exciting year of planning for the 2017 Festival.

Among the many highlights of the festival were the World Premieres of Tommy's Honour, which opened the Festival, and the remade Whisky Galore! which closed celebrations. There was also a special presentation of E.T. with live music from the RSNO, plus a weekend of outdoor screenings which attracted 9000 people.

Ken Hay, CEO Edinburgh International Film Festival, added:

EIFF is unashamedly international and outward-looking in its programming and its reach, with 55 countries represented in the programme, guests from almost 40 countries, and a truly multi-national team delivering the event. We’re delighted that audiences and guests have responded so positively to the programme and the broader Festival experience, and are thrilled to see an increase in admissions.

Film Fest 2016 awards 975x400

Award Winners

As always at the Film Festival, a number of films stood out for particular acclaim, and were recognised in the festival's annual awards. This year's winners were as follows:

Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film
Pikadero (dir. Ben Sharrock) (above left)

Best Performance in a British Feature Film
Catrin Stewart for The Library Suicides

Best International Feature Film
Suntan (dir. Argyris Papadimitropoulos) (above centre)

Best Documentary Feature Film
Shadow World (dir. Johan Grimonprez)

Best Short Film
Before Love (dir. Igor Kovalyov)

McLaren Award for Best British Animation
Simon's Cat - Off to the Vet (dir. Simon Tofield)

Audience Award
Hunt for the Wilderpeople (dir. Taika Waititi) (above right) 

Edinburgh International Film Festival will return from 21 June - 2 July 2017. More information on the Festival

Image of an envelope. Click here to go to our eNewsletter signup page

Want news and features about Edinburgh's 12 major festivals delivered straight to your inbox? 
Sign up for our regular enewsletters!

Share this article

Jump to sign up form

Keep Up to Date

Sign up for Festival Updates
  • Scottish Government
  • City of Edinburgh Council
  • Creative Scotland
  • Event Scotland
  • Scottish Enterprise
  • British Council Scotland
Back to top ↑