Film Festival awards announced as audiences soar

Edinburgh International Film Festival has wrapped for another year, with strong growth in audiences and an excellent selection of films competing for the top awards.


The Festival saw a 9% leap in admissions from the previous year, with over 50,000 recorded, plus almost 15,000 more attendees at the two weekends of free open-air Film in the City screenings preceding the main events.

Ken Hay, CEO Edinburgh International Film Festival, said: 

There have been some truly memorable moments at the Festival this year, from the spectacular opening night World Premiere of The Legend of Barney Thomson, Ewan McGregor’s sold out In Person at the Lyceum, the skype Q&A with the stars of our Documentary Award Winning Film The Wolfpack, the sensational screening of Back to the Future with the RSNO performing the score live, and the opportunity to meet filmmaking legends, Haskell Wexler and Johnnie To.
Our audiences have obviously responded to our rich and diverse programme and we are thrilled to see the increase in admissions.

The success of the Festival's selection led to some strong competition in the EIFF's awards ceremony at the Filmhouse cinema, with journalist and broadcaster Jackie Bird taking the role of host for the evening and a host of stars attending. 

The awards presented were as follows:

The Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film
Presented to 45 Years, directed by Andrew Haigh

Best Performance in a British Feature Film
Jointly presented to James Cosmo for The Pyramid Texts and Charlotte Rampling for 45 Years

Best International Feature Film
Presented to The Diary of a Teenage Girl, directed by Marielle Heller

Best Documentary Feature Film
Presented to The Wolfpack, directed by Crystal Moselle

Best Short Film
Presented to Scrapbook, directed by Mike Hoolboom

The McLaren Award for Best New British Animation, supported by the British Council
Presented to Stems, directed by Ainslie Henderson

The Student Critics Jury Award, supported by James and Morag Anderson
Presented to Black Mountain Poets, directed by Jamie Adams

The Audience Award
Presented to Big Gold Dream: Scottish Post-punk and Infiltrating the Mainstream, directed by Grant McPhee

For further information on all the award winners, please visit the Film Festival's website here and here
For more information on the growth in audiences in 2015, please read their story here.

Image: Tom Courtenay and Charlotte Rampling in 45 Years (EIFF)

Share this article

Jump to sign up form

Keep Up to Date

Sign up for Festival Updates
Back to top ↑